Unexpected Friend

 Friends come in all shapes and sizes, they also last for different periods of time. One group of friends that we need to hold in higher esteem are those who are not cursed with apposable thumbs. 

Unexpected Friend

It’s good to walk in the country,

peaceful, full of familiar smells,

listening to the sound of shoes on tarmac,

 the birds singing in the air,

crunching of grass beneath cows’ feet.

 the occasional sound of mooing,

sheep bleating,

horses neighing.

When in the country you’re never completely alone,

one creature or another watching,  

occasionally they communicate,

 snuffling or an exasperated sighing.

 He was there at the low point where the gate cuts into the hedge,

 standing big, brown nearly black in places,

flecks of grey in his mane and round the muzzle,

 deep brown/black liquid eyes, all-knowing watched as I approached,

no way you could go past and ignore such a magnificent creature,

he’d seen life go by innumerable times.

Takes a bit of courage to walk up to such a beast,

 he must have stood 16 hands,

 commanding respect,

something that big deserves respect,

he wanted to talk to me in his own way,

 I raised a hand and gently stroked his nose,

he was happy, it was fine, he snuffled his permission,

perhaps he’d sensed a common soul as I’d walked head down,

enjoying the air,

 the nature.

What sort of life had he had?

I didn’t know how old he was,

 perhaps retired from farm work,

maybe he’d been some kind of show hoss,

 he was in good condition, coat shining like a new suit,

somebody obviously cared.

 I knew I’d walk this way again,

next time there would be polos,

they love polo mints,

even with large teeth and huge lips

 they manage to scoop a polo mint from an open palm,

they eat very politely, keeping lips together,

you can hear them crunching solidly.

We communed for almost half an hour then he took his leave,

I had provided a service but now he was done,

a toss of his magnificent head,

he trotted away.

Was it something I said?

I think he knew I would return.

© David L Atkinson April 2024 

God Bless 

Leave a comment